Three Questions About Discipleship

March 4, 2013 — 10 Comments

Discipleship.

Our staff has been talking about what this word means, looks like, and should be in our personal and ministry lives this week. So I want to ask you to take a minute and respond to three questions for me so I can see what you think…

1. What does the word discipleship mean to you?

2. How do you learn best? Individually, or in groups?

3. If you could “be discipled”, what would that look like?

Thanks so much for participating in this, and I look forward to hearing from you!

10 responses to Three Questions About Discipleship

  1. 

    1. The action of someone being a disciple. Spreading the Word of God and doing what they can to bring others to follow Him.

    2. I believe there are merits to both.

    3. I think by witnessing others disciplining to others is a good way. A sort of mentoring whether getting the experience from attending Church services, small groups or on a one on one basis.

  2. 

    Discipleship to me is simply committing oneself to the Lordship of Jesus, to be willing to learn from him, follow him, trust him and love him.

    I learn best when I engage many styles of learning. In learning to be a disciple of Jesus, I’m an Acts 2:42-47 guy. “They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Everyone was filled with awe at the many wonders and signs performed by the apostles. All the believers were together and had everything in common. They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need. Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.” I think learning discipleship comes from being devoted to the Word, committed to fellowship with one another, participating in the sacraments, and spending time in prayer.

    Not only can I be discipled, I am! In addition to the things I mentioned from Acts, I also submit myself to the authority God has given my pastor, to be a mentor to me. I participate in small groups and have an accountability partner. To be discipled, one needs to be willing.

    I hope this helps.

  3. 

    Thanks so much for sharing, Kevin! It does help.

  4. 
    Breana Wakefield March 4, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    1. Discipleship means a lot to me. It means to make a copy of yourself and it is a very loaded term. Being discipled by an older woman in my ministry has taught me to accept leadership speaking into my life and ultimately this has improved my obedience to God in accepting His authority. Discipling younger women has taught me that in order to disciple, you have to pour your life into that person. I have had to not only prepare once a week for our meetings but also prepare every day to be filled up so that I can be poured out. Being discipled teaches you to self-feed and depend on the Lord in order to turn around and teach others to do the same.

    2. I most definitely learn the most in either a very small group or individually. I have to be able to talk through things and feel comfortable asking questions, but because of my quiet demeanor, my voice tends to get lost in the crowd of a large group.

    3. What it looks like for me to be discipled: I meet with her once a week, we are going through a book of the Bible together so most times we study our passage together, we spend time in prayer, etc. Lately, she has just been walking through life with me. I have come to her so many times just exhausted and down and she will change what she had planned to meet the needs that I have at that moment. Whether it be having a quiet time together out of Psalms or her just asking me probing questions to make sure my heart is right, she is helping me become more like Christ.

  5. 

    1. What does the word discipleship mean to you?
    To me, the word discipleship means living life like Jesus did. Jesus prayerfully picked out 12 men he wanted to be surround with to live life and show them how to live life in a manor worth of God. Jesus even narrowed it down to three (Peter James and John) and then to one. The “one whom Jesus loved” was John and he was the one Jesus invested in the most. Discipleship should be like that, spending time with one person and investing spiritual foundations, disciplines, truths, and being real and vulnerable with the other person. If this happens, and God produces fruit from the relationship, that person who was being discipled will in turn make disciples and their disciple with make disciples and it keeps going on. And I agree with everything Bre said!

    2. How do you learn best? Individually, or in groups?
    Honestly, I think the best way for anyone to learn is one on one. You can be vulnerable with that person, get truths that will specifically apply to you in different seasons of your life. Groups would be the application of one on one and if one on one happens I believe that we can have better fellowship because we can each take what we are learning and share it with other believers.

    3. If you could “be discipled”, what would that look like?
    To me, being discipled looks like spending weekly time with one person who is also being discipled, who has a heart for God and is willing to invest time and energy into their person. The time would look like meeting once every week or every two weeks digging into the word and praying to apply to what is happening in the heart or what should be happening in the heart at that time. Also, spending time outside of reading the bible and living life together is essential. Jesus lived every moment for three years with his disciples and showed them what faith looks like in the day to day life. So hanging out in groups, doing errands together, doing homework together, eating together, or having family play dates (I don’t know what they are called).

  6. 

    Alright, I know it’s been a minute since you posted this, but here are a few thoughts.

    The concept of discipleship is that the one learning ‘becomes’ the one who is teaching. So, a rabbi would have a student and the goal of the student would be not only to learn the teachings of the rabbi, but to embody them.

    If I am to be a disciple of Jesus, or make disciples for Jesus, then I must strive to ’embody’ Him. I believe this is a 2 part process. We should be actively discipling (mentoring others) and being discipled.

    As for learning, both group and individual formats serve a purpose and neither is complete. Group learning provides a basis for knowledge and helps to ensure sound doctrine. Individual learning is a better opportunity for implementing the practices learned in group settings. So, both the church gathered and the church scattered are avenues for discipleship, just different functions of the process.

    I think that the “what does is look like” issue is wrapped up in the other 2 questions. It looks very much like any other learning process. There should be classroom style learning and ‘on the job’ training. Both of these should be overseen by a mentor/mature believer and then duplicated as each person grows toward maturity.

Leave a Reply

